FORS ELearning & Accreditations

FORS which stands for Fleet Operator Recognition Scheme is an accreditation scheme that has been designed to raise the standards within the fleet industry and identify operators who are committed to best practices in safety, efficiency, and environmental protection. The scheme is voluntary and open to all fleet operators.

What is FORS ELearning?

The FORS eLearning program is a comprehensive series of online training modules that offer drivers and managers concise, accessible training. Each course usually takes between 20-40 minutes, and upon completion, the candidates will be required to take a short test. If you pass the test, your name will automatically be added to the FORS Professional training register and a certificate will be made available for you to download.

The eLearning modules are mostly available as PowerPoint group delivery training packs – which can be downloaded via your company dashboard. This is helpful when working with limited or no internet access.

Accreditation Levels in FORS

FORS is a three-level accreditation system for fleet operators, with each level containing different standards for safety and efficiency. Operators must complete each level before progressing to the next. The FORS accreditation level includes Bronze, Silver, and Gold levels.

What is FORS Bronze Accreditation?

FORS Bronze is an accreditation that confirms that you employ good practices and meet the requirements set out by the FORS Standard. This includes demonstrating a dedication to driver and vehicle safety and improving operating practices by effectively monitoring fuel and tyre usage.

Obtaining FORS Bronze accreditation confirms to other companies within your supply chain that you take compliance and health and safety seriously and are a responsible operator with regard to the environment.

To achieve FORS Bronze accreditation, you must complete an audit within 90 days of registering. The key to success is preparing for the audit so that you can provide evidence of systems, procedures, and documentation that meets the standards required. You can get fully prepared by undertaking the FORS eLearning program.

What is FORS Silver Accreditation?

The FORS silver accreditation is awarded to operators who maintain their Bronze accreditation, and are able to demonstrate that they have developed driver licencing verification systems, and their vehicles over 3.5 tonnes are equipped with a left turn audible warning system and fitted with blind spot minimisation devices.

The standard FORS silver requirement is that all vehicles in the fleet utilise a high-quality camera monitoring system to minimize blind spots around the vehicle while manoeuvring. This will safeguard drivers against avoidable accidents and significantly improve the safety of the fleet.

FORS Silver Requirement

  • To get accredited with Silver, fleet operators will provide evidence for all accredited operating centres indicating that they meet the specific requirements for Silver
  • Evidence must be submitted via the evidencing system
  • Bronze accreditation must be valid for at least 15 more days at the time of submitting evidence for Silver accreditation

What is FORS Gold Accreditation?

This is the highest level of accreditation in FORS, one that only about 5% of FORS accreditated operators tend to achieve. Only the most exceptional operators are granted gold accreditation and they must meet specific targets. FORS Gold Operators can promote the FORS Standard to their supply chain with confidence. They can be confident in the knowledge that they have achieved the highest level of accreditation.

To apply for FORS Gold, you must have 45 days left on your Bronze and Silver certificate, and provide evidence for all accredited operating centres, indicating that they meet the specific requirements for Gold accreditation.

Who needs FORS Accreditation?

Although FORS still claims that they are a voluntary scheme, many large companies such as HS2, Crossrail, and Thames Tideway, including several clients now require Fleet operators to achieve FORS accreditation before they are included in their supply chain.

Several companies from diverse sectors such as transportation, storage, construction, wholesale, retail, waste management, etc. are now FORS accreditated. This is a result of the fact that they all use vehicles for commercial purposes, including servicing or delivery. These vehicles may include HGVs, vans, passenger vehicles, cars, motorcycles and mopeds and wheeled plants (e.g. mobile cranes).

Good news for those with multiple operating centres though: you can start with just one and then gradually roll out accreditation to the others. This way, all vehicles within that centre will be included in the process.

Leave a Comment